## Dynamic Chiropractic

NEWS / PROFESSION

## **News In Brief**

Editorial Staff

CCCLA Reflects on Past, Looks to Future

Cleveland Chiropractic College Los Angeles (CCCLA) celebrated the founders of chiropractic and the birthday of Dr. Carl S. Cleveland Jr. on July 24. Kevin Corcoran, executive vice president of the American Chiropractic Association, served as keynote speaker and CCCLA clinicians held breakout technique sessions throughout the day.

Elizabeth Cleveland, executive director of the Cleveland College Foundation, awarded 10 scholarships during the event. Recipients included Sally Kleinbart, Carl S. Cleveland Jr. Scholarship; Clayton Blanchette, Carl S. Cleveland III Scholarship; Summer Zqaihi and Tammy Cassa, Cleveland Research Scholarship; Scott Elliott and Nicole Willis, Anrig Family Scholarships; Ahmad Baydoun and Alla Olshansky, Foundation Golf Classic Scholarships; Erica Martin, Ethelbert Stalling Scholarship; and Sara Klingenberg, Vanguard Memorial Scholarship.

Tammy Cassa, student council president, awarded the council's summer scholarship to Rooza Goharchin, while Michael Brown, executive director of student/alumni relations, distributed academic

decathlon awards to Khoa Le (1<sup>st</sup> place), Autumn Monteiro (2<sup>nd</sup> place) and Jennifer Francisco (3<sup>rd</sup> place). Brown also presented the annual student awards: Francisco received the Student Spirit Award and Cassa received the Student Leader Award. The two shared Student of the Year honors.

"This year, while still holding to honoring the founders, we looked at where chiropractic is and the direction it is heading," said Cassa. "The past is set with milestones, the present is defining itself and the future holds great promise."

## CCE Executive Director Resigns

Dr. Martha O'Connor, executive director of the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE), resigned as of Aug. 31, 2007. The CCE wishes to recognize the important work that has taken place during Dr. O'Connor's tenure as executive director. Under her guidance, the agency has undertaken several major initiatives, including adopting a strategic plan, obtaining continued recognition by the Department of Education and arranging for a governance workshop for the CCE Board of Directors.

The board has appointed Dr. Lance Blackshaw as interim executive director. Dr. Blackshaw has previously served as an officer on the board and currently is serving the organization as chair of the council's task force on accreditation standards improvement. A national search for a permanent executive director to replace Dr. O'Connor is in the process of being organized.

In conjunction with the centennial homecoming of Texas Chiropractic College, the Association for the

History of Chiropractic (AHC) is holding its 28<sup>th</sup> annual Conference on Chiropractic History July 17-19, 2008 in Galveston, Texas.

The AHC is calling on all students of chiropractic, along with non-students, to submit their history paper to the AHC Executive Editor, Dr. Glenda Wiese, by the deadline of Feb. 1, 2008. Two cash awards will be presented at the conference. A cash prize of \$500 is made available and awarded by the AHC for the best paper presented at the conference by a non-student. A cash prize of \$500 is made available by the National Institute of Chiropractic Research and awarded by the AHC for the best paper presented by a student. Authors of papers accepted for presentation at the conference are not required to submit their papers to the editor of *Chiropractic History* for consideration to publish, although this is encouraged.

As July 2008 nears, more information will be available about the conference, along with history paper submission guidelines, at the following Web addresses: the AHC Web site, www.historyofchiropractic.org and the college's Web site, www.txchiro.edu.

Papers being submitted should be sent to: Dr. Glenda Wiese, Executive Director, Association for the History of Chiropractic, P.O. Box 188, Davenport, IA 52803, USA.

SEPTEMBER 2007

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic<sup>™</sup> All Rights Reserved