Dynamic Chiropractic

NEWS / PROFESSION

Elections, Celebration, Reflection Highlight COCSA 2005

Julie Engebretson

The Congress of Chiropractic State Associations (COCSA) recently held its annual meeting in San Francisco, where more than 100 delegates from 45 state chiropractic associations aimed to improve their operations and effectiveness, participating in a number of workshops and discussions. This year's theme, "Golden Gate to the Future," called for a celebration of past accomplishments and anticipation of change to come.

Among the items on this year's agenda, new leadership was elected to serve the congress in 2006:

- President Dr. Steve Simonetti (N.Y.)
- 1st Vice President Dr. Jerry DeGrado (Kan.)
- 2nd Vice President Dr. Jeff Fedorko (Ohio)
- Treasurer Dr. Walt Engle (Pa.)
- Secretary Dr. John Galbreath (Ill.)
- Past President Dr. Kevin Donovan (R.I.)
- District 1 Director Dr. Kate Rufalo (Pa.)
- District 2 Director Dr. Mark Limberg (Mich.)
- District 3 Director Lili Montoya (Fla.)
- District 4 Director Dr. David Kassmeier (Neb.)
- District 5 Director Dr. Kurt von Rice (Ariz.)
- At-Large Director Kathy Chittom (La.)

Several other COCSA members were elected to serve as 2006 representatives to the Council on Chiropractic Guidelines and Practice Parameters (CCGPP), which also met during the weekend:

- District 1 Dr. Tom Augat, Maine Chiropractic Association
- District 2 Dr. David Radford, Ohio State Chiropractic Assocation
- District 3 Dr. Kathryn Webb, Georgia Chiropractic Association
- District 4 Dr. Jeff Askew, North Dakota Chiropractic Association
- District 5 Dr. Wayne Bennett, Arizona Association of Chiropractic
- At-Large Dr. Len Suiter, Missouri State Chiropractors Association

A new year of leadership at COCSA ushers in new programs and product endorsements. The Quit for Life smoking cessation program and the Chiropractors Buying Group were unveiled during the meeting; congress members also were introduced to the Eclipse/ChiroMatric-manufactured mattresses with spinal zone, which COCSA will be endorsing this year.

The annual event also was a time to reflect on the past year. Gary Cuneo, recently retired from the American Chiropractic Association, was awarded honorary COCSA membership for his distinguished service to the chiropractic profession. In addition, the congress proudly passed a resolution supporting Hurricane Katrina relief, requesting that each state association make a contribution of \$2,000 to be

used by the Chiropractic Association of Louisiana and the Mississippi Chiropractic Association to assist their member doctors and the help the associations continue to operate despite losses in dues revenue.

COCSA's next annual meeting will take place Nov. 8-12, 2006 in Baltimore, Md. For additional information about COCSA, please visit www.cocsa.org.

Written by Julie Engebretson

FEBRUARY 2006

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic™ All Rights Reserved