Dynamic Chiropractic

CHIROPRACTIC (GENERAL)

California Chiropractic Association Update

Editorial Staff

New CCA President Appointed to Task Force

Dr. Willard Smith, recently sworn in for a second term as president of the California Chiropractic Association (CCA), has been appointed by California Insurance Commissioner John Garamendi to serve on the Insurance Department's Task Force on Consumer Complaints.

Dr. Smith has been assigned to represent the chiropractic profession and patients on the Health/Life/Disability subcommittee. His introductory remarks at the Task Force's first meeting stressed that chiropractic patients and their doctors are seeking "a level playing field" to show the value of chiropractic care and receive fair coverage within the insurance system.

Dr. Smith was sworn in as CCA president at the association's 63rd Annual Convention in Monterey. Since joining the CCA in 1968, he served as the CCA's second vice president, treasurer, and secretary. Dr. Smith is past president of the Alameda County Chiropractic Society, and is active in the American Black Chiropractic Association. A graduate of the Los Angeles College of Chiropractic, Dr. Smith was appointed by then-Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr., to the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners in 1976 and served for over eight years on the Board.

CCA Presents Awards at Annual Convention

At its Annual Convention in Monterey, the CCA presented awards to various associations and individuals. Dr. Robert L. Dark was named "Doctor of the Year;" Darrick W. Lawson received the "Student of the Year" award; the "Society of the Year" was the Contra Costa Chiropractic Society; and the "New Doctor of the Year" was Diane Melendrez.

SEPTEMBER 1991

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic[™] All Rights Reserved