

NEWS / PROFESSION

South Dakota High School Athletes Can Choose Chiropractors for Physicals

Editorial Staff

As of July 1, 2001, a law passed by the South Dakota legislature affords high school athletes the choice of choosing chiropractors to conduct their school physicals. DCs in South Dakota have long been doing physicals for college athletes and drivers governed by the state's department of transportation.

"Performing physicals has always been in a doctor of chiropractic's scope of practice," noted Dr. David Eggers, president of the South Dakota Chiropractors' Association. "Now athletes and their parents have the freedom to choose a doctor of chiropractic when it's time for a physical, or to recertify an athlete for competition after injury," he added.

FCLB Appointment

LeRoy Otto, DC, has been appointed district II director of the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards, following the resignation of Dr. James Sommers of Michigan. Dr. Otto was the unanimous choice of the FCLB Board to fill the vacancy. As required by the FCLB bylaws, he will serve until the next meeting of the district II delegates (October 5-7, 2001, in Kansas City, Missouri) when he will be eligible to stand for election to the district.

A long-time member of the ICA, Dr. Otto has served on its international relations committee, where he worked with the Brazilian Chiropractic Association to secure registration and licensure of DCs, and with doctors in Belize in an effort to organize an association.

As a Palmer College of Chiropractic graduate, Dr. Otto returned to become a member of its postgraduate education department (1984-86). He has maintained a practice in Minnesota since 1979.

Dr. Otto was appointed to the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners Peer Review Committee in 1990, and appointed to its board in 1995, serving as vice president for two terms. He has been a key committee member on the FCLB's interjurisdictional mobility committee since 1998; has served the tests committee of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners; and as its chief examiner for the north-central region of the U.S.

ACA Developing Chiropractic Wellness Model

ARLINGTON, VA - The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) is formulating a policy statement describing the appropriate role of the chiropractic profession related to wellness and health in the United States, marketing it as a preferred method of care.

Members of a Wellness Committee steering group, led by Ron Rupert,DC, director of research for Parker Chiropractic College, have been following a scientific process to develop the wellness model's components, its impact from a scientific and practice management standpoint, and its effects on overall optimum health. The group met July 25-26 to finalize its recommendations, also addressing the definitions of acute, chronic and supportive care.

The chiropractic wellness model is being addressed based on the existing scientific research and clinical outcomes data in light of the practice of chiropractic today. Its model of care is designed to be broad and dynamic in scope.

Among the 19-member committee were researchers Ashley Cleveland, MA,DC, of Cleveland Chiropractic College; Cheryl Hawk,DC,PhD, of Palmer College of Chiropractic; George McClelland,DC, liason for the ACA board of governors; and John Triano, DC,PhD, of the Texas Back Institute. Companies represented included TRIAD Healthcare, Alternative Medicine, Inc., Blue Cross/Blue Shield and Allied Health of Wisconsin.

Notable Items

Dr. Paul Hollern of Louisville, Kentucky, pledged \$750,000 to Logan College, the largest personal donation in the college's history. Dr. Hollern's multi-year gift will include \$300,000 for Logan's \$1.5 million campaign for the Logan Learning Resources Center. The allocation of the remainder of the donation has not been specified.

Northwestern Health Sciences University celebrated its 100th commencement in April. The graduates came from 13 states, three Canadian provinces, and two countries abroad (Switzerland and Nigeria).

Dr. Dean Banks of Florence, South Carolina, was named 2001 "District Director of the Year" by the South Carolina Chiropractic Association.

SEPTEMBER 2001

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic[™] All Rights Reserved