Dynamic Chiropractic

NEWS / PROFESSION

DC Columnist Receives "Sports Chiropractor of the Year" Award

Editorial Staff

In March, the American Chiropractic Board of Sports Physicians (ACBSP) named *Dynamic Chiropractic* columnist Dr. Doug Andersen its "Sports Chiropractor of the Year" at the 2003 Chiropractic Sports Sciences Symposium in Baltimore, Md. Former award recipients Drs. Joe Horrigan, Tim Brown and Mary Collins joined ACBSP President Dr. Bob Nelson and President-Elect Dr. Dale Buchberger in recognizing Dr. Andersen.

Dr. Andersen, who is also a certified clinical nutritionist, has been actively working in sports medicine throughout his career, including a 10-year stint with the pro beach volleyball tour and three years as the nutritionist for the Los Angeles Kings hockey team. In 2003, he authored a chapter for the forthcoming 3rd edition of *Principles and Practice of Chiropractic* by Drs. Scott Haldeman and Joe Horrigan.

The ACBSP is a three-year, board-certified postgraduate program in sports medicine. For more information, visit www.acbsp.com.

New Life Trustees Hope to Revitalize University's Image

Five new trustees, four of whom are Life University graduates, have been appointed to the university's Board of Trustees, with the hope of restoring the college's image after it lost its accreditation from the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE).

"I remember what this university was like," said Denise Carlstrom, DC, one of the new trustees. "It just needs to be revitalized."

Dr. Carlstrom joins fellow Life graduates Dr. Shawn Ferguson; Dr. Diane DeReu-Foley; and Dr. Elliot P. Foster on the board. The other appointee, Doug McKittrick, is not a chiropractor, but understands the importance of restoring the college's image.

"It's a community university. It has given much to Marietta and the surrounding environment," he said. "Putting Life back where it belongs can only help the surrounding community."

According to Life President Dr. Ben DeSpain, the university is doing everything it can to rebuild its image and reputation: "We have a plan, it's just now a matter of implementing it."

Donation Collections Underway for Chiropractic Bicentennial Celebration

The Chiropractic Centennial Foundation (CCF) has donated more than \$59,000 to the Association of Chiropractic Colleges Bicentennial trust fund to celebrate the chiropractic bicentennial in the

year 2095.

The trust fund was created after the 1995 centennial celebration, when the CCF discovered it had surplus funds. According to CCF President W.T. Holmberg, DC, the original amount, with interest, could grow to \$3-\$4 million by 2095.

"It should give the bicentennial committee a good nest egg," he said. "They'll have something to work with for the celebration." Dr. Holmberg also believes the fund "ensures that the bicentennial of chiropractic will be a profession-wide event, just as the centennial was in 1995."

Donations of \$500 or more are payable to the Chiropractic Colleges Education and Research Foundation (CCERF) and should be sent to the Association of Chiropractic Colleges at 4424 Montgomery Ave., Bethesda, Md., 20815. Checks should be payable to "Bicentennial Trust."

One Successful Student, Two Scholarship Awards

Life Chiropractic College West recently awarded two scholarships to student Tina Carrari in recognition of her outstanding achievements. Ms. Carrari was honored with the quarterly Michael Beddoe Memorial Scholarship and the National Datatel Scholarship Fund Award for her academic excellence and volunteer work with the college and its community.

A Santa Maria, Calif., native, Ms. Carrari graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in agricultural business management from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, and a Master of Arts degree in human development from Pacific Oaks College in Pasadena, Calif. While completing her studies at Life West, Ms. Carrari has been active as president of the college's Motion Palpation Club and director of the Community Outreach Club. Additionally, she is a workstudy student for the college's research and anatomy departments.

The Michael Beddoe Memorial Scholarship was established in 1996 to encourage a commitment to excellence within the chiropractic profession. The Datatel Scholarship is awarded to students attending an eligible institution of higher learning institution, and is based on their achievements, a personal essay, grade-point average and letters of recommendation.

And the Winner is... the North American Spine Society

The North American Spine Society (NASS) was honored recently with the Telly award for its 2002 *Back to Health* education video and video news release. The productions coincided with a patient-education campaign promoting osteoporosis awareness.

Established in 1980, the Telly award recognizes outstanding non-network TV programming, non-network and cable TV commercials, and film and video productions. Previous Telly award winners independently judge each entry on a 10-point scale.

For more information on NASS or its Back to Health campaign series, contact Deanna Marchetti at (708) 588-8071 or marchetti@spine.org.

SEPTEMBER 2003