## Dynamic Chiropractic

CHIROPRACTIC (GENERAL)

## **Remembering Those Who Pave the Way**

Rand Baird, DC, MPH, FICA, FICC

This column pauses to express recognition and appreciation to the members of the APHA chiropractic section who have made our successful journey possible. Beginning in 1979, when a small group of chiropractors and chiropractic students at Cleveland Chiropractic College of Los Angeles turned a public health-class assignment into the start of something historical, through 2003, when chiropractic finds itself recognized by the APHA, the World Federation of Public Health Associations, and the World Health Organization, the foresight of all those who joined the APHA over the years have made it all possible.

Milestones along the way included:

- the establishment of the Chiropractic Forum Special Primary Interest Group of APHA in 1981;
- the 1983 APHA Governing Council policy that recognized chiropractic as "safe and effective for neuromuscular-skeletal disorders and especially low back pain." This policy replaced antichiropractic policy that had been in place for 14 years;
- DCs being elected and appointed to APHA leadership positions, and winning awards for their performances;
- the ACA, ICA, CCE and several chiropractic colleges becoming agency members of APHA;
- chiropractic programs becoming a regular feature at APHA annual meetings each fall;
- full section status with the formation of the Chiropractic Health Care Section in APHA in 1995;
- chiropractic researchers and authors being published in the American Journal of Public Health; and
- a chiropractor serving as president of the Inter-Sectional Council of APHA, and gaining an *ex officio* seat on the APHA executive board before 2000.

The accomplishments of these true pioneers have earned a place in chiropractic history. The battle that began as a fight to end discrimination against the chiropractic profession, and culminated years later with a succession of recognition leading to full equity and parity with the other disciplines involved in public health, required a sustained effort. Our goal was to enhance chiropractic communication and credibility by participating and integrating into mainstream public health activities and utilizing APHA as the vehicle for that participation. We achieved that noble objective, and continue this important work today.

We thank the chiropractic professional associations, organizations and schools for their support. We especially thank the various chiropractic media (including *Dynamic Chiropractic*) for publicizing our efforts. We'd also like to thank some of the many current chiropractic APHA members, doctors, educators, students and others - some who have been APHA members for as long as 28 years, some for just a few months - who give us the strength to continue. Some participate regularly in APHA activities, and some serve simply by paying their annual dues, but all are acknowledged for helping the cause. We apologize for any omissions (especially of laterenewing, long-term members). This list was provided to us by APHA staff as of early January 2003, so it only includes members whose dues were current as of that given date. Congratulations and James Joseph Abeler Alan H. Adams Robert W. Adams Anne Peneff Albert Gil C. Allen Robert M. Allen Martin Jeffrey Alpert Vani Anand Erik K. Anderson Andrew B. Anthony David L. Atkinson Rand Baird Jorge R. Balares Donald J. Baune Julie M. Beck L. W. Bellwood David F. Berg Jeffrey K. Bergin Laverne J. Berryo Jeanne F. Black Paul S. Bluestein Ellen M. Bokina Stephen Bolles David L. Bolton Mitchell Boltz Karen T. Boulanger Marian L. Boye Lori L. Bradshaw Stephen D. Brandenburg Richard Broeg Leo J. Bronston Dennis Mark Bushman Lori D. Byrd Anthony A. Cacioppo Raul Cadagan Jerrilyn A. Cambron Chris C. Campo Kent E. Carder Thomas L. Carpenter Tanya L. Castro Louis S. Catapano Henry S. Chen John C. Chen Robert W. Clark Ashley E. Cleveland Carl S. Cleveland III Richard L. Cole Fredrick C. Colley Bernard J. Coomes Michael D. Courtney

Arthur C. Croft Anthony V. D'Antoni Corinne Ethel C. Dadivas Anand A. Daftardar Robert R. Dale William H. Dallas Robert D. Davison Mark Dederichs **Richard Peter DeFelice** James Denito Brad D. Dennison Frances E. Derhammer Martin Desomma Elizabeth W. Doller Barbara E. Dorf David B. Dziora Matt Ehrhard Justin Elliott Brian L. Elsing William C. Eriksen Molly E. Etnier Will Evans James S. Factor Lissa Fahlman Harvey Jay Feenstra Terrance Flanagan Beverly J. Foster R. A. Foxworth Shirley I. Frakes Dan H. Froerer Donna Esty Funk Joseph H. Fye Stuart H. Garber Harley Dale Gilthvedt Robert J. Giroux Christine M.H. Goertz Keicha S. Gosling Nicholas A. Grande Robert J. Grinsell Timothy A. Gross John Paul Grumish Maruti Ram Gudavalli Mitchell Haas Gary L. Haber Francois Hains Don H. Handley David Hansen Marjorie L. Harbison Cheryl K. Hawk Kurt Hegetschweiler William Tetsvya Higuchi John S. Huber Eric L. Hurwitz

John K. Hyland Michele F. Imossi Gregory Y. Ing Andrew H. Isaacs Sharon Ann Jaeger Robert C. Jusino Bruce M. Kaplan Terence Kelly Kearney Charles J. Keller Raymond F. Kent Lisa Z. Killinger Ron O. Kirk Edwin Kletzel Karen K. Konarski-Hart Willaim Jeffrey Kramer Michael Krys Karl L. Lamb Dana J. Lawrence Paul J. Lienhart Xiao-Dong Liu Cynthia R. Long Paul E. Lyons Nicholas P. Madero Michele J. Maiers Fabrizio Mancini Douglas P. Manfra Ronald G. Manoni Duane J. Marguart Gustano H. Marshall Eric L. Martin Robert M. Martinez William A. Mathes Kevin A. McCarthy George B. McClelland William C. McClure John W. McDaniel Kenneth M. McWilliams William C. Meeker Kevin D. Meeks Kristi Jane Mettler R. Douglas Metz Mike N. Milinkovic Robert Doyle Mootz Elaine Morschhauser Scott Morschhauser Jean A. Moss Sam S. Moursalian Joseph J. Murphy Michael A. Noonan Randall Northcutt Carson E. Odegard Robert S. Ohlson Paul E. Okamoto

Donald Wayne Olson Nicholas F. Palmieri John C. Pammer Irene Natalie Paulavicius Michael G. Perillo Larry Peters Donald M. Petersen Reed B. Phillips **Gregory** Plaugher Miroslaw Polanski Teri A. Prince Ravid M. Raphael Carlos F. Reyes Anthony L. Rosner Frank Al Rymer Steven M. Santolin Michael T. Schaefer Julie A. Schrad Louis D. Sclafani Fred Seals Margaret A. Seron Randall R. Shaffer Clyde D. Shick Monica M. Smith James Richard Spiering Louis Sportelli Jeffrey M. Steinhardt Lisa K. Steward John Stites Larry L. Swank Bao Minh Ta Paige Thibodeau Rodney Carmel Thompson Patricia M. Tillou Sondra D. Tillou Carri L. Tingstrom Gene S. Tobias Kris W. Tosczak Raymond P. Trottier Heather L. Turpin William F. Updyke Sharon A. Vallone Coralee A. Van Egmond Catharina M.V.H. Williams Arthur T. Walker Wayne M. Whalen Jerry R. Willis Brian K. Wilson H. William Wolfson Danny C. Wong Linda Lee Zange

you've never been a member, join us now. If you are a former member, renew now and join our cause again. Membership information can be obtained at www.apha.org, or by calling section membership Chairperson Dr. Monica Smith (Palmer College of Chiropractic) at 563-884-5162.

Rand Baird, DC, MPH Torrance, California

APRIL 2003

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic<sup>™</sup> All Rights Reserved