## Dynamic Chiropractic

CHIROPRACTIC (GENERAL)

## Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards' 85th Educational Conference

The Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards hosted its 85th Annual Educational Congress May 4-8 in Marco Island, Fla. The conference highlighted the elements and tools necessary to build great regulators. Approximately 140 attendees from the United States, Australia, Canada and New Zealand represented chiropractic licensing boards, testing, associations, and chiropractic colleges.

The educational portion of the conference opened with the keynote address from Mr. Troy Elliott, Communications director for the Association of Social Work Boards. Mr. Elliott spoke about retaining board funds to best serve the public.

Also on opening day, the delegate body voted to admit the Australian and New Zealand boards into the FCLB as its newest members.

On day two, Dr. James Winterstein, president of National University of Health Sciences, delivered the 21st annual Joseph Janse Lecture, speaking about his vision of the future of health care, regulation, and chiropractic's role.

Other educational sessions included:

- Overcoming barriers to mobility
- Chiropractic testing
- Scope-of-practice issues
- Sports mobility and treatments outside of the office
- Chiropractic accrediting standards
- The developing Certified Clinical Chiropractic Assistant program
- Assessing a board's effectiveness
- Chiropractors as primary care providers
- The current draft Model Practice Act as presented by the FCLB task force
- Legal issues that puzzle boards

Dr. Louis Sportelli delivered day three's summary presentation, asking, "Can Great Regulators Be Built?"

Elections: New FCLB Board of Directors

- President: Dr. Lawrence O'Connor (N.J.)
- Vice President: Dr. LeRoy Otto (Minn.)
- Treasurer: Dr. Farrel Grossman (S.C.)
- Immediate Past President: Dr. Daniel Saint-Germain (Quebec)
- District I Director: Dr. Donn J. Fahrendorf (S.D.)
- District II Director: Dr. Gary Pennebaker (Minn.)
- District V Director: Dr. Michael Coon (S.C.)
- District I Alternate Director: Dr. Carol J. Winkler (N.D.)
- District II Alternate Director: Dr. William Rademacher (Ill.)
- District IV Alternate Director: Dr. Gary Counselman (Kan.)

The FCLB Board of Directors named Dr. Gary Pennebaker (MN) to serve as board chair.

## Awards and Recognition

Dr. Saint-Germain presented awards to the following individuals and organizations.

- Dr. Earl L. Wiley Outstanding Board Award: the Louisiana Board of Chiropractic Examiners
- Special Presidential Recognition: Dr. Carol Davis (Ark.) and Dr. Jerry Blanchard (N.D.).
- Pillars of Chiropractic, recognizing continuous dedication to public protection:Dr. James Badge (Ariz.), Ms. Deb Bridges (Wy.), Ms. Beth Carter (Okla.), Dr. Shannon Gaertner-Ewing (Idaho), Dr. Rick McMichael (Ohio), and Dr. Stephanie Youngblood (Nev.).
- 2011 George R. Arvidson Award for Meritorious Service: Dr. N. Edwin Weathersby (Ariz.)
- 2011 Dr. Wayne Wolfson Scholarship Award: Ms. Bophany Hem (Palmer College of Chiropractic (Florida campus), Ms. Amber Fogarty (National University of Health Sciences (Florida campus).

Dr. Saint-Germain also recognized Dr. Oliver "Bud" Smith Jr. (Texas) for his 12 years of service with the FCLB. Dr. Smith has now retired from the FCLB board, but continues his involvement with patient protection as an active member of the NBCE Board of Directors.

A complete agenda, list of faculty, awards presentations and many of the 2011 educational sessions are available on the federation's Web site at <a href="https://www.fclb.org">www.fclb.org</a>. Next year's meeting is scheduled for May 2-6, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency on the Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas.

Source: Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic™ All Rights Reserved