## Dynamic Chiropractic

CHIROPRACTIC (GENERAL)

## Eye on the Future

**Editorial Staff** 

National health care reform, informed consent and collaboration with state chiropractic associations were among the key issues discussed at the 45th annual meeting of the American Chiropractic Association (ACA) House of Delegates in late September. Delegates also approved several key policy resolutions, elected 2008-2009 officers, and honored colleagues for their ongoing contributions to the chiropractic profession.

"In the year ahead, the country will be under the leadership of a new president and Congress, which will likely bring changes to many aspects of health care," said Dr. Glenn Manceaux, ACA president, when addressing delegates. "As a profession, we must stand ready to fight for our right to practice and for our patients' rights to access the chiropractic care they need and deserve."

HOD-approved resolutions clarified the importance of ongoing informed consent that should continue throughout the course of patient care; the inappropriateness of manipulating/adjusting a segment or segments that may not be symptomatic or located in the same spinal region as the patient's primary complaint; the unethical nature of third-party billing for assessment and treatment of individuals who would by common practice not be charged for such services (friends, family, etc.). Other approved resolutions encouraged affiliation and collaboration between the association and state chiropractic organizations, and extended the benefit of complimentary CA membership to all actively practicing ACA doctor members.

## 2008-2009 ACA Officers

- Glenn Manceaux, president
- John Gentile, chairman and district 5 governor
- Rick McMichael, vice president
- Keith Overland, president of the Council of Delegates
- Anthony Hamm, vice president of the Council of Delegates
- William Pfeifer, district 1 governor
- F. Dow Bates, district 2 governor
- Mario Spoto, district 3 governor
- Robert Mastronardi, district 4 governor
- Jerry Gerrard, district 6 governor
- Joseph Morelli, district 7 governor

As is an annual custom at the House of Delegates Meeting, the ACA recognized several members of the profession for their outstanding service. Dr. Lewis J. Bazakos, former chairman of the board and current chair of the Chiropractic Summit, received the Chiropractor of the Year award. In August, more than 40 chiropractic leaders representing 32 organizations, associations and companies met in Orlando, Fla., at the third summit meeting to discuss two key issues of vital importance to doctors of chiropractic and their patients: the future of the Medicare program and prospects for national health care reform.

Barbara Wills, past president of the ACAuxiliary, was named Humanitarian of the Year for her three-term work to promote and support the profession. The ACAuxiliary's stated mission is to "cooperate with and render service to the association; cultivate a greater knowledge of chiropractic and its principles; to promote better education of the public in matters pertaining to the profession; and to strengthen fellowships among chiropractic families." Under Wills' tenure, the organization revived the annual ACA delegate dinner, using proceeds to award chiropractic scholarships to students.

According to the ACA, these are the association's two highest honors and reflect "exceptional service, achievement and/or leadership." Other chiropractors honored during this year's meeting included Dr. Cynthia Vaughn, who received the Delegate of the Year award; Dr. Norman Kettner, honored with the George B. McClelland Researcher of the Year award; and Dr. J. David Cassidy, who took Academic of the Year honors.

**NOVEMBER 2008** 

©2025 Dynanamic Chiropractic™ All Rights Reserved