Dynamic Chiropractic

NEWS / PROFESSION

FCLB Annual Meeting: "Regulation Without Borders"

Editorial Staff

The Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards (FCLB) held its 79th annual congress in Montréal, Québec, May 4-8, 2005. Nearly 200 people, including regulatory board members, executive staff, the majority of Canadian provincial authorities, and a number of chiropractic college representatives, attended this year's meeting, which was devoted to the theme of "Regulation Without Borders."

"Not only does public protection require the elimination of geographical and geopolitical borders," said Dr. N. Edwin Weathersby, who was elected FCLB president at the meeting. "It also demands that we break the constraints of thinking to recommit - with energy and innovation - to what's best for the patient."

"The real regulatory community is bigger than the boards," Dr. Weathersby added. "Boards may function as the statutorily-designated agent, but protecting the public interest demands vigilance and a commitment to ethics by everyone."

Dr. Daniel Saint-Germain, who was later elected FCLB treasurer, and appointed to serve on the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) Board of Directors (see article on the National Board beginning on page 1), spoke at the opening welcome reception. Dr. Saint-Germain's speech was dedicated to Dr. André Audette, a chiropractic pioneer and early Canadian champion of regulation. Dr. Saint-Germain noted that Dr. Audette was also instrumental in establishing chiropractic legislation in several U.S. states.

FCLB Past President Richard E. Vincent, DC, offered the keynote address - "A Chiropractic License Is a Social Contract - Are We Serving the Public Interest?" Immediately following his address, the FCLB surprised Dr. Vincent by presenting him with the 2005 George Arvidson Award. The award recognizes excellence in chiropractic regulation and public protection.

Other award winners at this year's meeting included Dr. Beverly Foster (Ark.), Drs. Lawrence O'Connor and Mary-Ellen Rada (N.J.), and Dr. Sherry McAllister (PACE), all of whom received Special Presidential Recognition for significant contributions to regulation in the past year. Alaska was honored as the Outstanding Chiropractic Regulatory Board for 2005.

David E. Brown, DC, mayor of Charlottesville, Va., delivered the 15th annual Joseph Janse Lecture; Dr. Brown urged his audience to carefully study issues of governance, and recommended that board members "take the time to learn about the issues and character and personalities" of candidates, rather than voting for the first person who asks for support. [For additional excerpts from Dr. Brown's speech, please read "More Changes at NBCE," beginning on the front page of this issue. To read the entire 2005 Joseph Janse Lecture, visit www.fclb.org/conference2005/reports.htm.]

A variety of educational sessions during the 2005 meeting dealt with developing stronger

partnerships with federal agencies, including the FBI, to combat fraud; and the PACE program of uniform approval standards for continuing education used for re-licensure credit. Credentialing issues were also discussed, including practitioner mobility, minimum qualifications to safely perform spinal manipulation, and board recognition of post-professional education and credentials.

In addition to the election of Dr. Weathersby (Ariz.) as president and Dr. Saint-Germain (Québec) as treasurer, board elections resulted in the following new officers and directors: Dr. Oliver R. Smith (Texas) - vice president; Dr. Carol Davis (Alaska) - district I director; Dr. Lance Earhart (Neb.) - district I alternate director; and Mr. Joe Baker Jr. (Fla.) - executive fellow director. Dr. Lawrence O'Connor (N.J.) was appointed by the FCLB board to complete Dr. Saint-Germain's term as district III director.

Re-elected by their districts to serve on the board were Dr. LeRoy Otto (Minn.) - district II director, with Dr. Valorie Prahl (Iowa) as district II alternate director; and Dr. Steve Willen (N.C.) - district V director, with Dr. Dennis Hall (N.C.) as district V alternate director.

Dr. Richard Cole (Tenn.) received numerous gifts in appreciation of his two-year tenure as FCLB president. He continues service on the FCLB board as immediate past president. Also continuing service on the 10-member governing board is Dr. Ron Tripp (Okla.) as district IV director, with Dr. Larry Davis (Nev.) as district IV alternate director.

In other meeting business, the membership adopted two amendments to the FCLB bylaws - the most notable of which shifts selection of the nominating committee directly to the delegate body.

Dr. Louis Sportelli offered closing remarks for the 2005 FCLB meeting, in an engaging address titled "Uniform Laws as Vehicles for Reform or Retreat."

To view a complete agenda, list of faculty, and many of the educational presentations from this year's meeting, visit www.fclb.org. The next FCLB congress is scheduled for Portland, Ore., May 3-7, 2006.

JUNE 2005

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic™ All Rights Reserved