Dynamic Chiropractic

NEWS / PROFESSION

FCER Names New Board Members

Editorial Staff

Monte H. Greenawalt, D.C., and Robert H. Hazel, D.C., were newly elected by the Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research (FCER) to serve three-year terms as board members. Vincent P. Lucido, D.C., was elected to continue his tenure as a board member, and P. Reginald Hug, D.C., a member of the American Chiropractic Association (ACA) board of governors, will join the FCER board of trustees as the ACA delegate to the board. George B. McClelland, D.C., was re-elected as FCER president, Frederick Coggin was elected vice president, and Hoyt B. Duke, D.C., is the new secretary-treasurer. Three FCER board of trustees members retired: Edwin M. Kenrick, D.C., Van D. Mericas, D.C., and John A. Davidson, D.C.

PCSC Provides Chiropractic Care for Celebrity Golf Tournament

The Pennsylvania College of Straight Chiropractic (PCSC) provided chiropractic care to the participants of the Mike Schmidt Pro-Celebrity Golf Tournament held July 6-7. The event featured over 100 Pro Golf Association (PGA) pros and 50 sports celebrities including Chicago Bull Michael Jordon, Miami Dolphin Dan Marino, Philadelphia Eagle Mike Quick, and former Yankee Yogi Berra. The tournament was held at the Commonwealth National Golf Course adjacent to the PCSC campus, and all proceeds went to the Special Olympics.

PCC Sponsors 1992 Bix 7 Run in Davenport

Palmer College of Chiropractic (PCC) was the sponsor of this year's Quad-City Times Bix 7 Run. The seven mile race attracts more than 18,000 runners and walkers, many of whom are world-class competitors. "As a chiropractic college, Palmer is an advocate of fitness and health -- so its fitting that we should be an official sponsor of this race," said Juan Nodarse, director of PCC marketing and communications. About 200 of the participants were PCC students, faculty, or staff. Dr. Gary Krakos, dean of Palmer clinics, ran in his 14th Bix 7 race and said, "As chiropractors we know that the future of the profession hinges on public familiarity with chiropractic and its benefits, I think the race is an excellent way to remind people that Palmer is an integral part of the community."

Parker Appoints New Board Members/Finishes Up New Gymnasium

Parker College of Chiropractic announced the appointment of two new Board of Trustee members, Dr. Ana Cobian and Dr. J. Joseph Abeler. These new members are replacing Dr. J.C. Johnson and Dr. Robert Mawhiney. The college also announced that construction of its new gymnasium/auditorium is in the final phase. The two-story, 30,000 square-foot building will have a maximum seating capacity of over 1,200.

Palmer West Awards Research Accolades

Drs. Robert Jansen and Joseph Keating were given awards by Palmer College of Chiropractic West (PCCW) for their numerous contributions toward chiropractic research. Dr. Jansen serves on the editorial boards of two journals, JMPT and the Chiropractic Research Journal. He has published 10 papers/articles in chiropractic literature this past year, and he is a consultant for the FCER. Dr. Keating is the author of Toward a Philosophy for the Science of Chiropractic, and is an assistant

editor for the Journal of Chiropractic	Technique as	well as six	other o	chiropractic (journals.
	SEPTEMBE	R 1992			

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic™ All Rights Reserved