Dynamic Chiropractic

NEWS / PROFESSION

CCA Convention Elections and Awards

ELECTED OFFICERS

Editorial Staff

The California Chiropractic Association (CCA) had its new officers sworn in during its 64th annual convention, June 19-21 in Palm Springs.

Dr. James Peterson, a Santa Maria resident, is the new CCA president. Willard Smith, D.C., becomes the immediate past president. Dr. Peterson is the immediate past vice president of Internal Affairs for the CCA, and has also served as vice president of Finance. He is a LACC graduate who joined the CCA and its educational affiliate, the California Chiropractic Foundation (CCF) in 1979, and served as chairman of the CCF Permanent Convention and Protocol Committees. He was also a member of the CCA State Ethics Review Committee in 1989-90, chairman of the Membership Benefits Committee, and chairman of the Ways and Means Committee.

The Central Coast Chiropractic Society named Dr. Peterson "Doctor of the Year" in 1988-89 and 1989-90. He also served as treasurer and director for the society.

The CCA Vice President for External Affairs is Bradley J. Sullivan, D.C., who will be serving his second term in that office. He is past vice president of Communications and has also served as CCA's treasurer, second vice president, and chairman of the Membership Committee.

Robb Russell, D.C., is the new CCA vice president of Internal Affairs. He is currently the director of the Long Beach Chiropractic Society. The new vice president for Communications is Jeffrey B. Nowicki, D.C., who is immediate past vice president of Finance and has served as vice president of External Affairs in 1990-91. Sharon Boisvert, D.C., immediate past president of Communications, is now the vice president of Finance.

In the affiliate organizations of the CCF, the Friends of Chiropractic (FOC) and the Academy of Forensic Industrial Chiropractic Consultants (AFICC), Patricia Connelly, D.C., will be serving a second term as FOC president; Gary N. Miller, D.C., will serve his first term as AFICC president.

Awards Presentations

The CCA presented eight awards during the convention.

Society of the Year: Sacramento Valley Chiropractic Society for its membership program, fundraising project for a local children's shelter, and involvement with legislators.

Most Improved Society of the Year: The Kern Chiropractic Society for obtaining a significant membership increase during the past year, and for its involvement in the "Safe Halloween" project.

Botterman Award: Dr. Jacalyn Buettner (San Francisco) for her dedication in advancing chiropractic health in the community, and her role in "Save a Life Saturday." The award is named for former CCA President Dr. Robert Botterman. Dr. Buettner, you may recall, appeared on ABC's "Good Morning America" February 27, 1992 (see April 10, 1992 issue of "DC").

Thomas N. Truax Award: Dr. Robert L. Dark (San Bernardino) for exceptional service in representing chiropractic in the areas of governmental affairs and political action. He is the president of the Congress of Chiropractic State Associations (COCSA), chair for the California Chiropractic Political Action Committee, and has headed the PAC's "Campaign '92" drive to raise \$1.25 million this year. The award is named after the CCA's former lobbyist.

Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Martin Gallegos (Baldwin Park) served as a founding member of "Baldwin Park Beautiful," a citizen-based organization to clean up that city.

Doctor of the Year: Kurt Hegetschweiler (Torrence) for his high level of service to the profession. He is currently a member of the CCA Legislative Council and vice president of the ACA Council of Delegates. Dr. Hegetschweiler is in his 13th year of practice.

New Doctor of the Year: Dr. Ellen Potthoff (Carmichael) has made outstanding contributions to the CCA, the Sacramento Valley Chiropractic Society, and her community.

Student of the Year: Gigi Stanwood (Whittier), a third year student as LACC was honored for her service to the student body and involvement with legislative concerns.

AUGUST 1992