

NEWS / PROFESSION

DCs Instruct in Texas Workers' Compensation Program

Dynamic Chiropractic Staff

Brothers Walt and Stephen Mellgren, both doctors of chiropractic, were chosen by McLennan County, Texas to participate in the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission's Back Injury Prevention Pilot Program. The Health and Safety Division of the commission is administering the two-year trial program. Anyone with a job-related back injury in McLennan County receiving four weeks of workers' compensation benefits must participate in the program by law.

The Mellgren clinic gave the first mandatory educational course of the Texas program. This "back injury school" consists of four hours of instruction in areas that include: spine anatomy, common types of back injuries, fundamentals of ergonomics/body mechanics evaluation, individual responsibility for back injury prevention in the types of back injuries, proper posture, lifting, and identification of hazards. Those attending the course receive a certificate upon completion.

Steve Fahey, program administrator for the education and training portion of the Health and Safety Division, awarded Drs. Mellgren plaques for their work in the workers' compensation pilot program.

Oregon DCs Run for State Representative Offices

Dr. Edward E. Moore, from McMinnville, Oregon, and Dr. Brian Stearns, from Salem, Oregon are each running for state representative in their respective districts. The DCs' campaigns are, in part, a reaction to Oregon Senate Bill 1197, which reduced chiropractic care to the injured worker from full physician status to 12 treatments and/or 30 days whichever comes first. The bill also stipulates that the injured worker must see an MD or a DO. Drs. Moore and Stearns are members of the American Chiropractic Association (ACA) and the Oregon Doctors of Chiropractic.

Eighteen CCCKC Students Listed in 1992 Who's Who Directory

Eighteen students from Cleveland Chiropractic College of Kansas City (CCCKC) have been selected from more than 1400 institutions of higher learning throughout America as outstanding national campus leaders and will be included in the 1992 edition of Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. These students were chosen based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.

Students named this year from CCCKC are: Erik Anderson, Debra Carpenter, Greg Cheney, Kerry Coulter, Bill Downing, Craig Farney, Teresa Groves, Ed Libich, Tom Montgomery, Elizabeth Patterson, Michelle Robin, Dean Rottinghaus, Doug Schoenhofer, Richard Valente, Rae Marie Venarucci, Chuck Vifquain, Rosemarie Wilson, and Lori Woodward. Palmer University Appoints Human Resource Director

Ms. Cheryl Scott has been named to the new position of director of Human Resources for Palmer Chiropractic University. The announcement was made by Larry Patten, Palmer University's chief operating officer. Ms. Scott's responsibilities will include facilitation of all personnel systems at Palmer College and Palmer College West.

JANUARY 1992

©2025 Dynanamic Chiropractic[™] All Rights Reserved