

NEWS / PROFESSION

## Congressional Candidate Awarded FCLB's Highest Honor

OREGON NAMED OUTSTANDING BOARD

Editorial Staff

At the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards (FCLB) conference in San Diego, April 15-19, Dr. Peter Ferguson, the Democratic nominee for Ohio's 16th district race for the United States Congress, was honored with the FCLB's highest honor -- the George W. Arvidson award.

The Arvidson award recognizes individual sacrifice and contribution to chiropractic regulation. Dr. Ferguson has 15 years of volunteer work in licensing board regulation at the state and international level, and has distinguished himself by his teaching and accreditation work in chiropractic education.

On presenting the award to Dr. Ferguson, FCLB President Dr. Lawrence Gerstein emphasized Dr. Ferguson's leadership and his "strong sense of integrity and character."

Past recipients of the Arvidson award are Drs. Daniel Saint-Germain; co-winners Frank Hideg Jr. and Paul Tullio; D. Brent Owens; Rex Wright. The first recipient was Donald Petersen Jr., editor/publisher of Dynamic Chiropractic.

The award for Outstanding Chiropractic Regulatory Board was presented to the Oregon State Board of Chiropractic Examiners as a model to other boards. Higher board visibility and building cooperative partnerships have been key to the board's recent success.

Other awards went to:

- Kansas Board of Healing Arts for its advances in telepractice regulation, public Internet access, higher educational standards, and award-winning video communication tools.
- Dr. Frank Hideg Jr., retiring president of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Dr. Hideg was recognized for his longstanding support of the Federation's mission of public service and serving the member boards by promoting excellence in chiropractic regulation.

MAY 1998

©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic™ All Rights Reserved