Dynamic Chiropractic

NEWS / PROFESSION

North Midwest Forum News

ISCA COMPLETES "DC OF THE DAY" PROGRAM

Editorial Staff

The Indiana State Chiropractic Association recently wrapped up the eighth year of its "Chiropractor of the Day" program at the Indiana General Assembly. The program, which is steered by Dr. Peg VanDenburgh, allows legislators, other state-elected officials and their staffs to receive complimentary chiropractic care during the legislative session.

For the third straight year, the ISCA's program was held directly in the chambers of the Indiana House of Representatives. The program offered chiropractic care on Tuesdays and Thursdays, January 8 through February 26.

Of all patient visits recorded during that time, nearly half came from the state's representatives and senators.

Northwestern Hosts ABCA Regional Conference

BLOOMINGTON, Minnesota -- More than two dozen students and doctors of chiropractic attended the mid-January American Black Chiropractic Association's Region II conference, hosted by Northwestern College of Chiropractic. Region II comprises the 18 states in the central time zone. The students from the chiropractic colleges in that region that attended were from National, Logan, Palmer, and Northwestern. No students from CCCKC, Parker and TCC were in attendance.

Issues discussed at the meeting included student mentoring, fundraising and community outreach.

"Our college is interested in building stronger ties with the ABCA and the student ABCA," said Henry Kaynes, PhD, director of admissions for Northwestern. "We've been working on a variety of projects with the ABCA."

NWCC Scholarships, Board Elections

At Northwestern College of Chiropractic's homecoming in February six of the college's alumni were reelected as directors to the Alumni Association: Kara Arne, DC; Barbro Brost, DC; Richard Greene, DC; Thomas Tjornhom, DC; and Zach Zachman, DC, were all reelected to four-year terms. Dr. Kathy Bloom, a 1984 graduate of NWCC, was elected to serve a one-year interim term.

In addition, 23 scholarships totaling \$15,650 were awarded during the college's annual alumni luncheon:

Dr. John B. Rolfe scholarship (\$1,000 each)

Willem Bos

Jolyn Halvorson Doug Maguire Terence Timm

Dr. J. Lamoine De Rusha scholarship (\$1,000)

Jennifer Vondrak

Foot Levelers' scholarship (\$750 each)

Katherine Gress Denise Jones

Douglas scholarship (\$750)

Megan Hudson

V. Duane Henre scholarship (\$700 each)

Rachel Franklin Steven Fridinger

Gail Sawyer scholarship (\$600 each)

Carrie Getzmier Craig Schulz Tammy Tremmel

Dr. Edward L. Wallick scholarship (\$600 each)

Laura Gardiner Scott Millner

Alumni Association scholarship (\$500 each)

Sarah Bittell Lori Dokulil Darrin Gillette Sherilyn Hildenbrandt Paul Schissler Kristen Smith

Willard E. Carlson scholarship (\$500 each)

Kim Juracek Andy McCaulley ©2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic™ All Rights Reserved