

NEWS / PROFESSION

## **Southeast Forum News**

SHERMAN COLLEGE DEDICATES FIRST NEW FACILITY ON CAMPUS IN 20 YEARS

Editorial Staff

SPARTANBURG, SC - On May 27, Sherman College held a ribbon-cutting and dedication ceremony for the first new facility on campus in 20 years. The new building is named in honor of Theron Olsen and his wife, Selma, long-time patrons of the college. The ceremony took place during Lyceum, the college's annual event for alumni, students and friends featuring educational workshops, seminars and special events to celebrate and promote chiropractic.

The Olsens, of Sandy, Utah, donated \$300,000 to Sherman College for the construction of the new facility and have been members of the Sherman Board of Regents since 1982. Dr. Olsen is a 1941 graduate of Palmer College of Chiropractic and was named "Chiropractor of the Year" in 1986 by Sherman College.

"We wanted to give back to chiropractic for what it has meant to us in our lives," Dr. Olsen explained. "I made a pledge to Dr. (Lyle) Sherman that I would support this college, and I have supported Sherman College to this day and will continue to support it for the rest of my life."

The 5,000-square-foot classroom facility provides the college with two classrooms, several faculty offices and a lobby. The college has also leveled and graded an area behind the building for general use as a sports and recreation field. This provides students with additional opportunities to pursue organized and social athletic activities and special events.

SC Chiropractic Association Honorees

Myrtle Beach, SC - A number of doctors were honored during the annual convention of the South Carolina Chiropractic Association (SCCA) June 8-11, in Myrtle Beach, SC.

"Chiropractors of the Year 2000" - DCs Evan Cohen and Stanley Frost

In a first-ever tie for this award, the SCCA members felt that Drs. Cohen and Frost were equally deserving of this honor. Both possess the energy and vision to be leaders in the association, and have a devotion to their colleagues and the chiropractic profession.

A Sherman College graduate, Dr. Cohen has been a licensed chiropractor since 1983, and a dedicated SCCA member since 1991.

Dr. Frost, a Palmer College graduate, has been licensed since 1980 and a member of the SCCA since 1986.

"Distinguished Service Award" - Dr. Roxzanne Breland

Dr. Breland was selected because of her extraordinary service and commitment to the association and the chiropractic profession. A Sherman College graduate, Dr. Breland has been a licensed

## chiropractor since 1986 and a member of SCCA since 1991.

JULY 2000

 $\ensuremath{\mathbb{C}}$ 2024 Dynanamic Chiropractic  $\ensuremath{^{ imes}}$  All Rights Reserved